Media, Culture, Society, Technology

Bear 71 is an interesting example of the amalgamation of media, technology and nature. Through the use of radio frequencies on collars and video cameras, viewers of the documentary are about to track the location of various animals. However, I did find the interface confusing, and there was little explanation of how to control it, which would have been helpful.

Google Glass and the rumoured Apple iWatch are two examples of human interaction between media, society and technology. Smart phone technology allows people to be constantly connected to the world – and people – around them, but devices like these are the next step.

I personally think Google Glasses look like kind of a joke (and that the iWatch is kind of redundant). Not do you look like an enormous loser whilst walking around wearing them, it raises a million questions about privacy and general etiquette to those around you. I guess people could argue the same about mobile phones, though. I think that it’s a lot clearer when someone is recording you with a mobile, but it remains true that basically anything you do could end up permanently on the internet.

I also liked Jussi Parrika’s reading from this week, because it reminded me of how much hipsters love ‘vintage’ stuff, like casette tapes and records and old clothes (but they all have iPhones, obviously).

I’ll end this post with this clip (ignore the annoying laugh track).

P.S. EVENT cause I go to lectures. They’re so interesting.

Leave a comment